Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Pages: (2) < [1] 2 >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: THE END OF MIKE OLDFIELD IN THE UK???, album sales< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
thevoyager Offline

Group: Members
Posted: Aug. 21 2002, 14:58

Hi to all MO fans.

I have just joined this site, but have followed mikes music for about 8 years now.

I am a 20 year-old student from england, and fell in love with tubular bells when i first heard it in a music class at college 8 years ago. I loved it because it was different. To me that sums up mike oldfield- and the reason why i have not missed a sinlge album release of his ever since.

what i wish to know is why the british record-buying public are so fickle that they only seem to buy an oldfield album if it contains the word 'tubular'.  Surely, if that album was good- wont his others be.

how come TB3 reached the heady-heights of #4, yet the follow-up guitars just managed #40?

the real dissapointment must be the latest- tres lunas did not even make the top 75 in the uk- a devastating blow for someone who has sold well over 40m albums. He should be given more respect than that.  This music is VERY GOOD and the song 'to be free' possibly one of his best.

All i can say is im glad he can still flog records to the rest of europe. They all obviously have good taste.

cheers for reading

ENJOY MIKE OLDFIELD- HE'S WORTH LISTENING TO!

(p.s- fuck the uk charts)
Profile PM 
timshen Offline

Posted: Aug. 21 2002, 22:15

The lack of sucess for Tres Lunas in UK is only due to one thing - Warner UK's total sistrespect for Mike and releasing it way after the rest of Europe. I guess most of those who wanted it bought it over the internet way before it was released in the UK. In Amazon.co.uk it read #30 on the album sales chart, showing that it was doing OK through this medium. If it was marketed better I believe it would do MUCH better in the UK - unfortunately it's too late now!