Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: Region codes, etc..., Can we play the DVDs here in the USA?< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
privarteuniverse Offline

Group: Members
Posted: June 12 2010, 19:00

Hi All -

Newbie here.  I was wondering about the new deluxe editions of Hergest Ridge and Ommadawn.  They're not being released here in the USA.  I was going to grab UK pressings from Amazon UK, but I was wondering if anyone can tell me what the region codes are on the DVDs.  Also if the DVDs say anything about PAL/NTSC.  One of the main draws of the new editions for me are the new 5.1 mixes.  The DVD player that I use for surround sound music won't play PAL or any region code other that Region 1 (or all region discs.)   Last year there was a reissue of Tony Banks' first solo album with a 5.1 mix that wasn't released here, but the UK pressing was compatable with North American systems.  I'm hoping the new Oldfield reissues will be the same.  

Thanks in advance for any insight that any of you can provide.
Profile PM 
Milamber Offline

Group: Musicians
Posted: June 12 2010, 21:06

Hi there.
If region code is a problem just download AnyDvd you get 21 days free trial.
And use dvd shrink to burn yourself a region free copy and use that.
Hope this helps :)
Profile PM 
Drealm Offline

Posted: June 17 2010, 08:48

Also, there are some DVD players that the region code can be removed.

The way it work is that you enter a specific code with the controller and it bring up a menu in witch you can choose the region you want, so you choose region 0 which makes all region from 1 to 6 available.

All you have to do is search Google for the exact model of your dvd player. It is normally shown on the front of the player. You include in your search "dezone" or "region free" or "unlock region" and you should easily find your code.

If it looks hard to find, it's probably because you can't do it with your model.