Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: Pacha Mama< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
Inkanta Offline

Group: Admins
Posted: Feb. 24 2000, 22:47

I've always been fascinated by Mike's excursions into various cultures through the mechanism of language and music. I have a degree in anthropology with a focus on American Indian Studies, but read too much Vine Deloria at an impressionable age and ended up switching to library and information science in graduate school, hahaha! I was blown away by Pacha Mama, as I have always had a special interest in Inka culture, and their astronomy in particular! Someday hope to return to school to focus on it.

Some have looked at the translation of the lyrics from Quechua (the language of the Inkas, spoken by millions of persons in the Andes today) on this site, and those provided by Mike and Dark Star, and wonder, huh???? How can the translations be so different?  Which is right?????

Back in December when I first heard Pacha Mama, I immediately understood some of the words from knowing a little bit of Quechua (very little, I might add!;).  One of the Handel singers, Roy Rashbrook was kind enough to provide the actual Quechua lyrics, and armed with them, I sought someone with expertise to translate. Charles Wolff stepped forward. He had majored in linguistics and attended Cornell University specifically to study Quechua. He has also taught within the Quechua program. It was wonderful of him to provide a scholarly translation! A few weeks later, a different interpretation of the Quechua lyrics appeared on the Dark Star site.

To review:

Huaca Pacha Mama
Huaca Saqsaywaman
Huaca Yachaq Runa
Huaca Munaq Runa

From Charles:

Temple of the Earth Mother
Temple of the Speckled Hawk
Temple of the Wise One
Temple of the Loving One

From Dark Star/Mike:

The Sacred Site of Mother Earth
The Sacred Stone Citadel
The Sacred Wise Ones
The Sacred Loving People