Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: On a positive note..., about the 2011 remaster< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
Sammy Offline

Group: Members
Posted: Aug. 19 2011, 13:11

... apart from the embarrassing skip/edit thingy in part 4, which still remains as yet unresolved... it really is a good job IMO.

There is a welcome "airiness" or sense of space in the overall sound picture, which I think was somewhat missing on the earlier masters (including the otherwise brilliant HDCD version) - I'm not a professional or anything like that but having just listened to the new mastering side by side with the HDCD version, I ended up thinking that while the HDCD master maybe carries a bit more weight and punch in some individual sections, the new version has that "certain something" about it that makes me prefer it.

To my ears, in the new mastering the string section bits sound more natural, the African drums and choral bits more clear-cut than before, and so on. You get to hear details that were somewhat drowned in the earlier masters - well of course they were there, but now you get the feeling that they're more easily discernible from the other stuff going on around them.

The mid-range especially sounds more uncluttered in the new master.

In classical music, one tends to come across the term "closely miked" (sic) or dry acoustics; if I may be so bold as to extend this to the earlier cd versions of Incantations, they seemed to have a whiff of that about them. This is not so much the case anymore, in the new mastering the aural image is more three-dimensional and vivid - more like a "concert hall" acoustic which in this context doesn't sound bad at all. On the contrary, it sort of adds grandeur and dare I even say sense of unity into the proceedings.

I may have ranted on about the badly done "replacement disc" edit in part 4 - and yes I still think it's a bit of a mess in that respect - but overall...