Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: Of bells and all things tubular, An article which may be of interest< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
FIREBIRD Offline

Group: Members
Posted: June 05 2009, 16:45

http://www.helium.com/items/768377-memoirs-music-from-the-70s

Hello I'm new here... I've been a fan since I was 16...I'm 50 now! I wrote the above article as I'm a writer and thought it might be of some interest to you all. I always listen to Mike's music when I write.  I went to 6 concerts in a week once back in 1979 - is that a record? Lol.
Profile PM 
Inkanta Offline

Group: Admins
Posted: June 05 2009, 21:36

Welcome, Firebird! Nice to have you here! Are you going to the International Day of the Bell?

--------------
"No such thing as destiny; only choices exist." From:  Moongarden's "Solaris."
Profile PM 
Dirk Star Offline

Posted: June 05 2009, 21:51

Great article Firebird,brilliantly honest and highly amusing."Mike Oldfield the group",and "stomping seven miles home in your platform shoes" gave me a couple of big belly laughs.Oh yeah and I used to have Debbie Harry on the inside of my school desk.But you know I didn`t attend an all-girls school more`s the pity so I guess that`s why I got away with that one.It`s kind of strange though some of the weird and wonderful conclusions we would draw about people back then before the internet and media focus etc.For the longest time I can remember thinking that Paul McCartney sang lead vocal on every single Beatles record because he was the only guy doing anything in the charts at the time.(i.e. late 70`s).Yeah there was me this great big Beatles fan,and I had John Lennon down as the harmonica player who possibly strummed a little bit as well.
Profile PM 
FIREBIRD Offline

Posted: June 06 2009, 04:42

I'm pleased you liked my article.

I wrote a poem about Mike too

http://www.helium.com/items/1323960-musical-genius