Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Pages: (3) < [1] 2 3 >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: Mikes use of bass guitar< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
ThisName Offline

Group: Members
Posted: June 23 2006, 04:38

I think that the way mike uses bass in his music is really overlooked. The way he writes for bass is as a lyrical solo instrument so that the bass lines to his pieces dont just trace the harmony but in fact have their own form of counterpoint. I think this is incredible and goes to show how inventive he is and how good a bassist he is also!

--------------
www.ryanyardmusic.com
Profile PM 
Trinidad Offline

Posted: June 23 2006, 07:29

That's exactly what I've been thinking about lately. I'm not a musician, but I'm starting to learn a little to play the keyboard, just for fun, and trying to make a Sentinel cover meanwhile. And, in one part, there's a bass playing a melody I never noticed to be so complex (well, not really complex, but more that just tracing the armony, as you've said). Now I take more attention to those things.
Profile PM 
Quicksilver Offline

Posted: June 23 2006, 11:01

Mike plays bass amazingly good. I'd like to hear it more in his future works  :cool:
Profile PM 
larstangmark Offline

Posted: June 26 2006, 14:00

Some great MO bass moments:

TB part 1 (first section): the roles of the piano and the bass are exchanged. The piano plays a repeated figure while the bass plays the melody. Works really good and keeps the piece interesting. Watch Mike play this on the "Elements" live version.

Ommadawn: incredibly low and ominous bass figure the first time the "dark" theme appears a couple of minutes in. The bass makes me think of rotting wood for some reason...
Also the bass figure behind the "climax" of pt1. It's remarkably hyperactive.

Amarok: first time the "spanish" theme appears. That's a incredible sounding bass guitar playing the melody.