Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: Is Captain Trips here?, What do we do now? I say stay in touch.< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
Scatterplot Offline

Group: Members
Posted: April 27 2009, 11:34

I log on to the internet with Yahoo as my home page. Every 12 hours or so there is a new depressing update about the swine flu pandemic potential. I prefer to call it the super-flu or Captain Trips since I always liked the 4 part miniseries "Steven King's The Stand", the book was too long. But it's something I sure would not want to "live" in reality, even if I was one of that 1% of the population that survived and either gravitated toward mother Abigail or Randal Flagg. Yet some think it's here and the news is just getting more paranoid.
    Nevertheless, I live in Texas, not too far from San Antonio or the Mexican border. I work in a school with some students who go home to San Antonio every weekend. Some might even go to Mexico, I don't know. If the school(s) close so does my pay. Just on a lark I stopped by a CVS pharmacy this morning looking for surgical  masks, all out of them yet I see no one wearing them in Austin. I don't think the masks would do that much good anyway. Something of this nature if airborne and possibly waterborn and foodborn could never be shrugged off with a simple face mask.