Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: iPhone Notification Sample?< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
Sentinel_NZ Offline

Group: Members
Posted: June 04 2024, 20:43

At around 39:01 of Return to Ommadawn, at the hiatus between the second last and the very last short movement/passage, there is a sound effect (a guitar strum - I'm not sureof the technical name for that technique, not being a guitar expert myself) that sounds almost exactly like the default iPhone notification.  It may not be in the exact same key, but it's pretty close.  Did Mike sample it or reproduce it?  Either way, it works exceptionally well.  IT's just that each time I hear an iPhone get a notification, I start humming Return to Ommadawn.

(The version of the notification below isn't exactly as it sounds on the actual phones today, which is much closer to what is heard on Return to Ommadawn, but it retains the basic sense of it so that hopefully you can see what I'm getting at.  Maybe someone else has even noticed th4e similarity before).

iPhone notification sounds like chord in Return to Ommadawn
Profile PM 
nightspore Offline

Posted: June 07 2024, 08:14

Maybe it means that, like Apple, Mike Oldfield will "stop supporting" the product after the next "upgrade", and you'll have to buy a completely new one. Who in their right mind would buy an Apple product when Galaxy doesn't do this?
Profile PM 
Sentinel_NZ Offline

Posted: June 10 2024, 22:07

Quote (nightspore @ June 07 2024, 08:14)
Maybe it means that, like Apple, Mike Oldfield will "stop supporting" the product after the next "upgrade", and you'll have to buy a completely new one. Who in their right mind would buy an Apple product when Galaxy doesn't do this?