Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Pages: (2) < [1] 2 >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: Wild Goose Flaps It's Wings, Why?< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
qjamesfloyd Offline

Group: Members
Posted: Sep. 26 2003, 14:12

I have just been listening to this great track,but i could'nt help but wonder where the title comes from,it does'nt seem connected to the track at all,or am i missing something?
Profile PM 
Ugo Offline

Posted: Sep. 26 2003, 17:46

I think that "Wild Goose" is a synonym for Ireland. IIRC in the late 1700s (or whenever the Wexford rebellion happened, I'm not good at all at history), young Irish rebels were called in various ways - two of them were 'croppies' and 'wild geese'. I think that the title's only link to the song is its 'heroic' mood. :) Maybe Richard 'know-it-all' Carter knows more than me about this. :)

--------------
Ugo C. - a devoted Amarokian
Profile PM 
Holger Offline

Posted: Sep. 26 2003, 19:29

AFAIK, it's a Tai Chi practice... still, Richard 'know-it-all' Carter might give us the details :p
Profile PM 
Tati The Sentinel Offline

Posted: Sep. 26 2003, 21:07

And Mike once said that this song was inspired by Tai Chi(and he practices a lot,since Voyager days...)

--------------
"But it's always the outsider, the black sheep, that becomes the blockbuster." - Mike Oldfield, 2014

"I remember feeling that I'd been judged unfairly and that I was going to prove them wrong." - Peter Davison, 2011
Profile PM WEB 
SCprogfan
Unregistered

Posted: Sep. 29 2003, 10:17

You may find some other interesting "wild geese" information from the music of Celtic/Christian band Iona:

"Flight of the Wild Goose