Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: Copyright Issues with Fan Music< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
Spaceplayer Offline

Group: Members
Posted: Jan. 01 2006, 01:12

Hi, I was wondering if someone had some specific answers to a question regarding copyright and Mike Oldfield. I am an independent musician and I would like to sell and perform a new album. The climatic track features the opening theme from Ommadawn. To me, the album is incomplete without this track.
I noticed that this forum has all sorts of musicians doing fan tracks. Has anyone ever had any trouble from Virgin records regarding copyright? Of course I will credit Mike Oldfield for the melody, but am by no means wealthy enough to pay for usage.

Thanks in advance, and glad to find others who appreciate the music of Mike Oldfield!

Joe aka Spaceplayer

--------------
Spaceplayer: The Music Listens To YOU.
Profile PM WEB 
MusicallyInspired Offline

Group: Musicians
Posted: Jan. 01 2006, 02:48

We as fans all write fan tracks and release them for free. If you were to try and sell your album then that would be copyright infringement. I'm pretty sure there would be some royalty fee or something you'd have to pay to use it.

I look forward to your album though, either way!

--------------
BrandonBlume.com
"The beauty in life is in the embracing of the variety of things. If all the world was blue there would be no colour blue."
Profile PM WEB 
BOOsTER Offline

Posted: Jan. 01 2006, 06:29

you gonna get in trouble once you try to sell it, anyway
there are some clearing companies and sometimes a royalty fee for a small release isn't that big...
Depends on the musician, publisher and how much of someone else's track did you use.

One good thing to remember is to not use others' work if you wanna sell the track which is result of your manipulating the sample/melody/vocal...

--------------
http://www.djbooster.net
Profile PM 
Moz Offline